Latest News

Borderlands 3 Update Livestreaming At 3pm

There is a livestreaming reveal for Borderlands 3, scheduled for this afternoon. But nobody seems to have the faintest idea of what it’s about.

The entire event has been teased in a wedding invite style announcement, in what Gearbox have called a ‘Celebration of Togetherness’. But cross-play has already been firmly ruled out of this unveiling by CEO Randy Pitchford. So your guess is as good as ours.

This has led many others to suggest it will be a showcase of its co-op gameplay. But let’s be honest, that’s probably the only other “togetherness” any of us can think of. Luckily, we won’t be left wondering for too long as it is due to kick off at 3pm BST – which is 7am PT and 10am EST. And we’ll obviously update you after the event, should you miss the broadcast. The official video is embedded above, however, for your convenience.

In other news, Pitchford stressed that there will be no cross-play functionality in Borderlands 3 on launch, though they do remain committed to the feature. He tweeted:

Some folks may be speculating that this thing tomorrow may be about cross play. Tomorrow’s thing is awesome, but *not* about cross-play. But, Good News: We are committed to supporting cross-play for Borderlands 3 with our partners as soon as practicable after launch.

To be clear, there will not be any cross-play functionality in Borderlands 3 at launch as we work closely with our partners to create a positive cross-play experience as soon as practicable. We are committed to cross-play on as many platforms as possible.

Now, that’s a lot of cross-play references so we think they’re serious. But it’s a shame that the function won’t be ready at launch; these lobbies and what not start to empty after a while. Then your friends start to trade their games in and your left all Billy no ‘Borderlands’ mates…

Comments
To Top
Manage Cookie Settings